My 2014 Reading CHALLENGE

As we all now, it’s the NEW YEAR!!! Well not really, more like day 11 of the new year (don’t know if really still qualifies as ‘new’). Any who, I’ve decided to challenge myself this year in a very different way.

Many of the people who know me personally know that I’m not an avid reader… I mean I do enjoy a good book or two, but you don’t see me with a book constantly in my hands. I’m actually pretty sure the amount of books I’ve read in my lifetime is definitely less than ten (excluding the books we were FORCED to read in school). But this year I hope to change that…

Fuelled by the spirit of New Years Resolutions and Being a FINISHER, I’ve decided to challenge myself to read 14 books this year… yes, FOURTEEN. Now maybe to you this number might be quite low but for me it’s pretty HIGH!!! I’m sure the most books I’ve read in a year is 3 ( and I’m pretty sure I didn’t finish two of the three) 

Reading is fun, I actually enjoy doing it; it’s just that my line of work doesn’t allow me enough free time to sit with a book and a cup of Woolworths tea. If I’m not at school, I’m in rehearsals or I’m actually working on assignments (which sucks) leaving me hardly any time to even touch a reading book that’s not school related. I thoroughly enjoy reading ‘self-help’ books… Right now I’m reading ‘The Secret’ series. I’ve finished ‘The Secret’ and I’m currently finishing ‘The Power’ and Imma move onto ‘The Magic’ then onto ‘The Hero’. The other book I’m reading at the moment is ‘Men of The South’ by Zukiswa Wanner. It’s a proudly South African book; from author to content. It speaks about three men in one woman’s life, and the impact she has on them. It makes for quite the interesting read (Zakes Mda even said it was great) I also like reading plays… the last play I read was ‘Chicago’ by Maurine Dallas Watkins. This play is what inspired Kander and Ebb to write their own musical, of the same name, after being persuaded by Gwen Verdon and Bob Fosse (I can’t help it, MUSICALS ARE WHAT I LIVE FOR) I’m also reading ‘Creative Visualization’ by Shakti Gawain, I think it’ll be a good follow to ‘The Secret’ series.

photo 1 (3)

So wish me luck, Imma need it, as I embark on this challenging journey. Perhaps maybe you can even suggest a good book to me???

otherwise…

***remember to keep the sting burning*

Leave a Reply

