My Latest Project

I’ve been contemplating on whether I should share this with you all, but I decided that I have nothing to lose by actually sharing this. I have decided to:

WRITE MY OWN MUSICAL!!!

The idea hit me last year and I thought ‘Well why the hell not’… I mean it doesn’t take two minutes to write a full musical, it’s probably gonna take me a good ten years to actually get it where I want it to be, but I must say that so far the journey and experience has been quite exciting.

I’m learning a lot about writing, something which has always interested me for quite some time. The story is already put together; well the skeleton… I still have to draft the book. My biggest challenge when it comes to writing this musical is the MUSIC part of it. I hear the music in my head but when it comes to writing it down and/or recording it in some form, it becomes a mission. Luckily, I have my talented repertoire teacher who is helping me out with the musical aspects of the whole thing. I have many songs, but just titles for them so far and a ‘feel’ of what I want the music to sound like.

This has actually pushed me to learn more about music. I plan to learn how to play my guitar and possibly the piano too. But I don’t wanna be one of those ‘dumb’ musicians who only know the practical but not the theory, so I’m also pushing myself to learn more about the theory side too.

The one thing that made me want to write my own musical was the fact that Sarafina, and a few other Mbongeni Ngema musicals, are the only 100% South African musicals that have been recognised and appreciated. This country is full of talented people with different stories to tell, and me being part of Generation X, I’ve decided to also tell a story, in the format of a musical, with the hopes that it’ll inspire other young people to write… till eventually we have more 100% South African musicals that could join the ranks of the Ngema greats, such as Sarafina.

About the musical, well I can’t say much yet… I don’t wanna give away the storyline (which only a few people know) The one thing I’ll tell you is the title: REVELATIONS!!! And now Imma just leave you with that, and you can let your imagination run wild as to what the hell the musical will be about.

otherwise…

***remember to keep the sting burning*

Leave a Reply

